Press "Enter" to skip to content

U. S. Presidential Honors to be Bestowed Across the Country, Atlanta Civil Rights Activists Included

The Atlanta Inquirer will participate to celebrate those honored in Atlanta, Georgia. Among those honored will be Reverend Dr. Lawrence E. Carter, Sr.; Dr. Anne W. Watts; Hon. Carolyn Long-Banks; Hon. Michael J. Bond; Hon. Shirley C. Franklin; Judge Brenda Hill Cole; Reverend Dr. Otis Moss, Jr; Dr. Benjamin F. Chavis; Dr. David Satcher; Dr. Georgianne Thomas; Dr. Gwendolyn Middlebrooks; Dr. Herschelle S. Challenor; Dr. Johnny Parham; Dr. Mary Ann Smith Wilson; Dr. Roslyn Pope**; Mrs. Henrietta Antoinin; Mrs. Billye Aaron; Mrs. Xernona Clayton Brady; Ms. Miranda Mack McKenzie; Reverend Dr. Clayton Eugene Taylor, Sr.; and many more.

North Carolina Central University in Durham, North Carolina (on July 30, 2022); Bible Church of God, Boynton Beach, Florida (on August 20, 2022); Morehouse College in Atlanta, Georgia (on August 26, 2022); and the Thurgood Marshall Center Trust in Washington, DC, (on September 10, 2022) have each opened its doors to the 2022 Presidential Volunteer Service Award (PVSA) Honors Ceremony. Over eighty honorees from across the nation are recipients of this year’s “The Joseph Biden Lifetime Achievement Award.”

The July 30, 2022 event took place at North Carolina Central University, Durham, North Carolina in the New Student Center. This award was presented to the North Carolina honorees. They were as follows; Chancellor Dr. Johnson O. Akinleye, Mayor Elaine O’Neal, Mr. Abner Mason, Ms. Minnie Forte-Brown, Dr. Bobbie L. Richardson, Ms. Ava Alston Brownlee, Mrs. Denise Hester, Mrs. Georgetta Parker, Mr. Ronnie Garrett, Mr. Chip Shearin, Mrs. Sylvia Wiggins, Mr. Willie A. Gray, Ms. Aniya D. Jones, Pastor John P. Kee and Posthumous honors were awarded to Dr. Grady Davis, Sr., The Honorable Floyd B. McKissick, Sr. and Mr. Clarke Alston Egerton, Jr. The following honorees were named but will be celebrated in different locations, Bishop Philip R. Cousin, Sr., Mrs. Joan M. Cousin, Dr. Terry Morris, Dr. Mychelle Farmer and Mr. Clifton B. Alston, III.

“We are eternally grateful to all venues for hosting the awards program this year,” said Dr. Beverly Kee, Executive Director of Premiere Coalition Partners Association, LLC., a Maryland-based certifying organization for the Presidential Volunteer Service Award Program. “We have a very impressive list of honorees who are making a meaningful difference in their communities, and each venue is so fitting for such a prestigious event.”

Two of the highlights of these events are recognizing students from different geographical locations who have made major contributions to their communities. We are paying tribute and recognizing the “Atlanta Student Movement and Civil Rights Leaders who shaped our history.” Some of the notables are Dr. Otis Moss, Jr., Dr. Benjamin F. Chavis, Jr., The Reverend Dr. Lawrence E. Carter, Sr., Dr. Anne Wimbush Watts, Dr. Clarissa Myrick-Harris and many more. This award and other presidential medals (Gold, Silver, and Bronze) will be presented to some of the most noteworthy honorees in this nation.

Dr. Beverly Kee, of Premiere Coalition Partners Association, LLC, will present the awards on behalf of the Points of Light, AmeriCorps, Joseph R. Biden Jr., the 46th President of the United States, and Vice President Kamala Harris to those who made community service their mantra. The historical value of this event has many significant layers.

Established by executive order by former U. S. President George W. Bush, the prestigious honor has been awarded to a select few Americans to recognize more than 4,000 hours of extraordinary community service per year.

For more information on the event or the President’s Volunteer Service Award, contact (301) 592-9000 or email

2022 Presidential Award Honorees in Atlanta, Georgia on August 26, 2022
Reverend Dr. Lawrence E. Carter, Sr.
Dr. Anne W. Watts
Dr. Clarissa Myrick-Harris
Hon. Carolyn Long-Banks
Hon. Michael J. Bond
Hon. Shirley C. Franklin
John Wyndal Gordon, Esq.
Judge Brenda Hill Cole
Reverend Dr. Otis Moss, Jr
Dr. Benjamin F. Chavis
Dr. David Satcher
Dr. Frank Smith**
Dr. Georgianne Thomas
Dr. Gwendolyn Middlebrooks
Dr. Herschelle S. Challenor
Dr. Johnny Parham
Dr. Mary Ann Smith Wilson
Dr. Norma June W. Davis
Dr. Roslyn Pope**
Ms. Claudette Colvin**
Ms. Melba Moore
Ms. Thomasina Yearwood
Dr. Alice Harrison Howard
Mrs. Henrietta Antoinin
Mrs. Billye Aaron
Mrs. Virginia W. Harris
Mrs. Xernona Clayton
Dr. Catherine Meeks
Dr. Terry Morris
Dr. Reisa Wade Jones
Dr. Renee “Sunshine” Lewis
Ms. Beverly Wright
Ms. Laura Emiko Soltis
Ms. Miranda Mack McKenzie
Reverend Dr. Clayton Eugene Taylor, Sr.
Dr. Henry D. Muhammad-Hamilton
Dr. Jeffrey R. Sanders (NBA)
Lional Dalton (NFL)
Dr. Frank D. Murphy (NFL)
Dr. Jason Gilliam-Alexander
Dr. Kenneth L. Gray (ESPN)
Mr. Claude Harriott (NFL)
Mr. Clifton B. Alston, III
Pastor Scott Claunch, Sr.
Archbishop John Lewis, III
Mr. Christian Aycock
Mr. Jonathan G. Steward
2022 Presidential Award Honorees in Durham, North Carolina on July 30, 2022
Mayor Elaine O’Neal
Dr. Bobbie Richardson
Dr. Johnson O. Akinleye
Mr. Abner Mason
Mr. Chip Shearin
Mr. Ronnie Garrett
Mr. Willie A. Gray
Mrs. Denise Hester
Mrs. Minnie Forte-Brown
Ms. Ava Alston Brownlee
Ms. Aniya D. Jones
Ms. Sylvia Wiggins
Pastor John P. Kee
2022 Presidential Award Honorees in Washington, DC on September 10, 2022
Dr. Angie M. Gates
Dr. Rita D. Lewis
Dr. Mychelle Farmer
Reverend Dr. Orlando J. Bego
Mrs. Denyce Graves Montgomery (Kennedy Center)
Ms. Carl Eaddy
Ms. Marisol Johnson
Mr. Herb Scott
Mr. Leon Nelson
Mr. Philesciono Canty, Sr.
Mr. A. J. Ali
2022 Presidential Award Honorees - Media / Story-Tellers
Reverend Alvelyn Sanders-Swafford
Ms. Althea Brown
The Atlanta Inquirer
Mr. Al Reynolds
2022 Presidential Award Honorees - Organization Honors
The Laya Center
The Thurgood Marshall Center Trust, Inc.
United for Life Family Ministries
2022 Presidential Award Honorees - Posthumous Honors
Dr. Grady D. Davis
Hon. Floyd B. McKissick, Sr.
Hon. Julian H. Bond
Mr. Clarke Egerton, Jr.
Mr. John H. Lewis, Sr.
Mr. Morris J. Dillard, Sr.
Ms. Laura Nell Brown
Ms. Ruby Doris Smith Robinson
Reverend Dr. Hosea L. Williams

Last updated on August 23, 2022

Translate »