Press "Enter" to skip to content

Fulton County Provides Free Senior Services

About a month ago, Fulton County Commissoner Joe Carn (District #6) had a couple of town hall meetings where much information was distributed on senior citizens services. Most of these services discussed were either free or discounted.

If you missed the town hall meetings, you can get the information from the Fulton County Office of Senior Citizens. These free services can be secured and confirmed for those who apply to the Fulton County Department of Senior Services. Call (404) 612-7947, and the individual who answers the phone will provide information on how to sign up for the program. This is a treasure-house of services that are offered for senior citizens. Spread the word.

You must register, get a reservation number, and your rider’s ID number so you can use UBER/LYFT. Make the call and get the assistance that is offered to senior’s Help get the word out. Most seniors are at a certain age where they might want to stop driving. One of the services provided during the work-week, is a free Uber/Lyft ride to your destination and home again.

Call Fulton County Senior Services to get more information.

Some of the services available include:

  1. Transportation – Uber/Lyft rides
  2. Home Repairs
  3. Indigent Burials
  4. Rental Assistance.

Fulton County Senior Services
Fulton County Senior Services connects senior adults and their families to resources that aid and support their goals for active aging, care and self-sufficiency.

Our comprehensive services support the aging in place with respect, quality and dignity. Through partnerships and contracts with community-based organizations, in conjunction with the Older Americans Act Program, Fulton County offers an array of evidence-based and innovative programs that positively impact the fastest growing population in Fulton County.

Fulton County
Fulton County was formed from DeKalb County in 1853, and then consolidated with Milton and Campbell Counties in 1932. That’s why it has such an unusual, elongated shape. Of Georgia’s 159 counties, Fulton County was the 144th to be created.

The Fulton name honors Robert Fulton, the inventor who built the Clermont, the first commercially successful steamboat, in 1807.

Fulton County lies in north-central Georgia in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains. The warm southern climate produces plentiful hardwood and pine forests, making the area a beautiful place to live.

Fulton County encompasses 528.7 square miles, and stretches over 70 miles from one end to the other. North Fulton includes the cities of Sandy Springs, Alpharetta, Roswell, and Mountain Park. South Fulton includes the suburban cities of College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Palmetto, City of South Fulton and Union City. The City of Atlanta lies between them.

The Chattahoochee River, the source of drinking water for most of Fulton County, is one of the smallest water sources in the country relative to the size of the population it supports. The “Hooch” runs out of the north Georgia mountains, bringing with it plentiful trout.

Last updated on April 1, 2020

Translate »
Verified by MonsterInsights